7 Million + Happy Customers

100% Original Products

32 Points Quality Check


For every 100 Spent,
You earn 1 Bookchor Coins



  • 368

  • 9780571229642

  • 2 mm

  • 12 mm

  • 299 gram


  • 6 MARCH 2008

    Publish Date

Check Delivery

Enter pincode for exact delivery dates / charges and to know if express delivery is available

    Bookchor Assured

    100% Genuine books.

    The books that you get are completely genuine. The genuinity of the publication and authenticity of the books are individually checked. You will never receive a pirated product.

    Maximum Quality assured

    New books are crisp and fresh just like the ones that you handpick from the physical stores. You will not find a single smudge or scratch even though the book travels all over India for delivery. Even second hand books retain their highest quality.

    Get what you see.

    We take great care in delivering you the perfect book that you see on the website. Book cover, number of pages and book dimensions are exactly the same as mentioned in the book description . For used books we categorize them into ‘Almost New’, ‘Good, and ‘Readable’ - even the ‘readable’ books are of high quality.

    Honest discounts.

    We do not offer discounts just to attract you. The prices of the books are not falsely hiked to lure you into the greed of discounts. We offer flat discounts on MRP. The discount sales run throughout the year.


    Sarah Lewis, a 26-year-old farmers wife, wakes to find her husband has gone. She is not alone, as all the other women in the Welsh border valley of Olchon wake to discover their husbands have disappeared also. With this sudden and unexplained absence, the women regroup as an isolated, all-female community. Paperback , 357 pages Published March 6th 2008 by Faber & Faber (first published February 10th 2007)

    About the Author

    Add authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.

    Owen Sheers

    Owen Sheers was born in Fiji in 1974 and brought up in Abergavenny, South Wales. The winner of an Eric Gregory Award and the 1999 Vogue Young Writers Award, his first collection of poetry, The Blue Book (Seren, 2000) was short-listed for the Welsh Book of the Year and the Forward Prize Best First Collection 2001. His debut prose work The Dust Diaries (Faber, 2004), a non-fiction narrative set in Zimbabwe, was shortlisted for the Royal Society of Literatures Ondaatje Prize and won the Welsh Book of the Year 2005. In 2004 he was Writer in Residence at the Wordsworth Trust and was selected as one of the Poetry Book Societys Twenty Next Generation Poets. Owens second collection of poetry, Skirrid Hill (Seren, 2005) won a 2006 Somerset Maugham Award and is a WJEC and AQA A level set text. Unicorns, almost his one man play based on the life and poetry of the WWII poet Keith Douglas was developed by Old Vic, New Voices. Owens first novel, Resistance, has been translated into eight languages. His recent collaboration with composer Rachel Portman, The Water Diviners Tale, an oratorio for children, was premiered at the Royal Albert Hall for the BBC Proms 2007. His essay Bomb Gone, about Britains Christmas Island thermonuclear tests, appears in Granta 101. Owen is currently a Dorothy and Lewis B. Cullman Fellow at the New York Public Library.

    Rating & Reviews


    285 total