The Pearl and the Pumpkin: A Classic Halloween Tale

7 Million + Happy Customers

100% Original Products

32 Points Quality Check

The Pearl and the Pumpkin: A Classic Halloween Tale

For every 100 Spent,
You earn 1 Bookchor Coins



  • 264

  • 9780486470313

  • 2 mm

  • 14 mm

  • 408 gram


  • 27 NOVEMBER 2009

    Publish Date

Check Delivery

Enter pincode for exact delivery dates / charges and to know if express delivery is available

    Bookchor Assured

    100% Genuine books.

    The books that you get are completely genuine. The genuinity of the publication and authenticity of the books are individually checked. You will never receive a pirated product.

    Maximum Quality assured

    New books are crisp and fresh just like the ones that you handpick from the physical stores. You will not find a single smudge or scratch even though the book travels all over India for delivery. Even second hand books retain their highest quality.

    Get what you see.

    We take great care in delivering you the perfect book that you see on the website. Book cover, number of pages and book dimensions are exactly the same as mentioned in the book description . For used books we categorize them into ‘Almost New’, ‘Good, and ‘Readable’ - even the ‘readable’ books are of high quality.

    Honest discounts.

    We do not offer discounts just to attract you. The prices of the books are not falsely hiked to lure you into the greed of discounts. We offer flat discounts on MRP. The discount sales run throughout the year.


    The pumpkins raised on the Pringle farm in Vermont are the finest in the world and highly prized by makers of pies and preserves. Thats because Joe Miller, Farmer Pringles nephew, has a secret for growing great, glorious pumpkins. On Halloween, he picks twenty-one of the biggest and best to carve into jack o lanterns—and thats where this exuberant adventure begins. This The pumpkins raised on the Pringle farm in Vermont are the finest in the world and highly prized by makers of pies and preserves. Thats because Joe Miller, Farmer Pringles nephew, has a secret for growing great, glorious...  Read More

    About the Author

    Add authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.

    Paul West

    Paul West (February 23, 1930) is an English-born novelist, literary historian and poet, the author of 24 novels, who has lived in America since the early 1960s. He now (in 2012) resides in upstate New York with his wife, the writer, poet and well-known naturalist Diane Ackerman. Paul, still remembered with affection by his old colleagues and friends in England as a big, jolly man, was born in Eckington, which is near (and now considered a part of) Sheffield in South Yorkshire, but was during West’s childhood a Derbyshire village associated with the famous literary Sitwells of Renishaw.
    Paul has been honoured with the American Academy of Arts and Letters Literature Award (1985), the Lannan Prize for Fiction (1993), the Grand Prix Halperine-Kaminsky Award (1993), and three Pushcart Prizes (1987, 1991, 2003). He was also a recipient of a Guggenheim Fellowship, a New York Public Library Literary Lion (1987), and a Chevalier of the Order of Arts and Letters 1996, France).
    His parents, Alfred and Mildred, really cared for books, and created an environment which ensured that young Paul inherited a great passion for literature, which was enhanced when he went from his native village to study first at Oxford University in England and later at Columbia University in America. He never lived in England again after going to Columbia, and in later years Paul was involved with other US universities in teaching roles, notably Pennsylvania State University.
    Paul West’s novels have included: ‘A Quality of Mercy’ (1961); ‘Tenement of Clay’ (1965); ‘Alley Jaggers’ (1966); ‘Im Expecting to Live Quite Soon’ (1970); ‘Bela Lugosis White Christmas’ (1972); ‘The Very Rich Hours of Count von Stauffenberg’ (1980); ‘Rat Man of Paris’ (1986); ‘The Women of Whitechapel and Jack the Ripper’ (1991); and ‘OK: The Corral, the Earps and Doc Holliday’ (2000).
    His non-fiction has included the autobiographical ‘I, Said the Sparrow’, a delightful essay on his Eckington childhood; ‘The Growth of the Novel’ (1959), ‘The Modern Novel’ (in 2 vols, 1963); ‘Robert Penn Warren’ (1964); ‘Words for a Deaf Daughter’ (1969); ‘A Stroke of Genius: Illness and Self-discovery’ (1995); and the remarkable ‘The Shadow Factory’ (2008), the aphasic memoir he dictated with such struggle and resolve –it brings tears to the eyes and admiration to the heart, as we are reminded in reading it of the courage of this man. It is a ‘must-read’ in the context of the terrible stroke he suffered in 2003. Paul’s wife, Diane, also wrote about that stroke and its consequences in her book ‘One Hundred Names for Love: A Stroke, a Marriage and the Language of Healing’. Paul’s poetry collections include ‘Poems’ (1952), ‘The Spellbound Horses’ (1960), and ‘The Snow Leopard’ (1964).

    Librarian Note: There is more than one author in the GoodReads database with this name.

    Rating & Reviews


    3 total