Hiding

Supplemental materials are not guaranteed for used textbooks or rentals (access codes, DVDs, CDs, workbooks).

Literature and Fiction

Hiding Place

Author:

Availability: In Stock

"A scalding, thrilling book" - "Observer". Set in the Maltese community of Tiger Bay, and peopled with sharp-edged, luminously drawn characters, "The Hiding Place" is the story of Frank Gauci, his wife Mary, and their six daughters. Through the eyes of Dolores, the youngest daughter, we see the underworld of 1960's Cardiff, a life of gaming rooms and cafes, of crumbling houses and burning secrets which tear this family apart. Thirty years on, a reunion with her estranged sisters brings Dolores face to face with the betrayals which have haunted her past, where the truth is finally and tragically played out. "An extraordinarily instinctive write with a delicate feel for language...Azzopardi has written a scalding, thrilling book about the havoc and despair it is possible to wreak inside a family" - "Observer". ""The Hiding Place" manages to be heart-breaking without being sentimental. Fans of Kate Atkinson and Andrea Ashworth will love this Read and weep" - "Mirror". ""The Hiding Place" is an accomplished and courageous debut...In its sheer strangeness and poetic charge, the novel sometimes recalls other literary one-offs such as "Wuthering Heights"". - "Times Literary Supplement". "A gripping tale, horrifying and often funny. This relationship between girls, who must fight to survive, is brilliantly evoked". - Marie Claire, "Book of the month".

Condition Chart?

To get best offers, download Bookchor App

Download App now

Seller: BookChor
Dispatch Time : 1-3 working days
"A scalding, thrilling book" - "Observer". Set in the Maltese community of Tiger Bay, and peopled with sharp-edged, luminously drawn characters, "The Hiding Place" is the story of Frank Gauci, his wife Mary, and their six daughters. Through the eyes of Dolores, the youngest daughter, we see the underworld of 1960's Cardiff, a life of gaming rooms and cafes, of crumbling houses and burning secrets which tear this family apart. Thirty years on, a reunion with her estranged sisters brings Dolores face to face with the betrayals which have haunted her past, where the truth is finally and tragically played out. "An extraordinarily instinctive write with a delicate feel for language...Azzopardi has written a scalding, thrilling book about the havoc and despair it is possible to wreak inside a family" - "Observer". ""The Hiding Place" manages to be heart-breaking without being sentimental. Fans of Kate Atkinson and Andrea Ashworth will love this Read and weep" - "Mirror". ""The Hiding Place" is an accomplished and courageous debut...In its sheer strangeness and poetic charge, the novel sometimes recalls other literary one-offs such as "Wuthering Heights"". - "Times Literary Supplement". "A gripping tale, horrifying and often funny. This relationship between girls, who must fight to survive, is brilliantly evoked". - Marie Claire, "Book of the month".
Additional Information
Title Hiding Place Height 13
Trezza Azzopardi Width 1.7
ISBN-13 9780330480413 Binding Paperback
ISBN-10 0330480413 Spine Width
Publisher Picador USA Pages
Edition New ed Availability In Stock

Goodreads reviews

Free shipping

On order over ₹399
 

Replacement

15 days easy replacement
 

0124-4561150

Customer care available