A Beginners Guide to Acting English

7 Million + Happy Customers

100% Original Products

32 Points Quality Check

A Beginners Guide to Acting English

For every 100 Spent,
You earn 1 Bookchor Coins

Highlights

  • ENGLISH

    Language
  • 320

    Pages
  • 9780091924775

    ISBN
  • 2 mm

    Width
  • 12 mm

    Height
  • 227 gram

    Weight
  • PAPERBACK

    Binding
  • 1 APRIL 2010

    Publish Date

Check Delivery

Enter pincode for exact delivery dates / charges and to know if express delivery is available

    Bookchor Assured

    100% Genuine books.

    The books that you get are completely genuine. The genuinity of the publication and authenticity of the books are individually checked. You will never receive a pirated product.

    Maximum Quality assured

    New books are crisp and fresh just like the ones that you handpick from the physical stores. You will not find a single smudge or scratch even though the book travels all over India for delivery. Even second hand books retain their highest quality.

    Get what you see.

    We take great care in delivering you the perfect book that you see on the website. Book cover, number of pages and book dimensions are exactly the same as mentioned in the book description . For used books we categorize them into ‘Almost New’, ‘Good, and ‘Readable’ - even the ‘readable’ books are of high quality.

    Honest discounts.

    We do not offer discounts just to attract you. The prices of the books are not falsely hiked to lure you into the greed of discounts. We offer flat discounts on MRP. The discount sales run throughout the year.

    Description

    Hilarious and heartwarming, this memoir is the story of growing up in a strange land where you dont speak the language, everyone smells like milk, and to top it off, the Ayatollah wants you and your family dead In the tradition of Nancy Mitfords The Pursuit of Love and Gerald Durrells My Family and Other Animals , comes a story of a young narrator in the midst of her ecc Hilarious and heartwarming, this memoir is the story of growing up in a strange land where you dont speak the language, everyone smells like milk, and to top it off,...  Read More

    About the Author

    Add authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.

    Shappi Khorsandi

    Shaparak "Shappi" Khorsandi (born 8 June 1973) is an Iranian-born British comedian.

    The daughter of Hadi Khorsandi, her family was forced to flee from Iran to London after the Islamic Revolution following the publication of a satirical poem her father composed. The poem was perceived as being critical of the revolutionary regime. Shappi was raised without any religion.
    Khorsandi graduated from the University of Winchester in 1995, with a degree in Drama, Theatre and Television, then moving onto pursue a career in comedy. In 2010, the University honoured her by awarding her an honourary doctorate.
    Khorsandi was married to fellow comedian Christian Reilly, by whom she has a son named Charlie. They divorced in 2010. She lives with her son in west London near Richmond Park. Her father and brother are also stand-up comedians.

    Khorsandi performs stand-up comedy, having been a noted performer at Joe Wilsons Comedy Madhouse throughout 1997. She has appeared on many BBC Radio 4 programmes, including Quote... Unquote, Loose Ends, You and Yours, Midweek, Just A Minute, The Now Show and The News Quiz, as well as BBC Televisions Have I Got News For You. In July 2009 she hosted her own four-part series, Shappi Talk on BBC Radio 4, examining what it is like growing up in multi-cultural families. She also writes an occasional column for online magazine Iranian.com.
    In 2007, she made her first trip to Australia and the Melbourne Comedy Festival with her show Asylum Speaker. She also appeared live on the Australia comedy talk show Rove. Later, she was nominated for best breakthrough act at the 2007 Chortle Awards. In December 2008, she appeared on the BBC stand-up television show Live at the Apollo alongside Russell Kane and Al Murray. She also made an appearance on Michael McIntyres Comedy Roadshow on 20 June 2009, Friday Night with Jonathan Ross on 26 June 2009 and 8 Out of 10 Cats on 10 July 2009.
    Khorsandis memoir, A Beginners Guide to Acting English, was published by Ebury Press on 2 July 2009. She performed her show, The Distracted Activist, at the Edinburgh Festival Fringe from 6–31 August 2009.
    She was a panellist on Question Time in 2006, and returned on 14 January 2010. During that show, she mentioned that her political support goes to Labour. She performed on the second episode of Lets Dance for Sport Relief 2010.
    In 2010, Khorsandi took part in Channel 4s Comedy Gala, a benefit show held in aid of Great Ormond Street Childrens Hospital, filmed live at the O2 Arena in London on 30 March. She appeared as a guest in Genius hosted by Dave Gorman on 31 October 2010. Khorsandi appeared on Channel 4s The Celebrity Bank Job in March 2012 and won £59,000 for her chosen charities.

    Rating & Reviews

    3.8

    131 total
    5
    0
    4
    0
    3
    0
    2
    0
    0