Awakening: The Story of the Bengal Renaissance

Supplemental materials are not guaranteed for used textbooks or rentals (access codes, DVDs, CDs, workbooks).

Awakening: The Story of the Bengal Renaissance

Author:

Availability: Out Of Stock

Key note: A gripping narrative about the Bengal Renaissance of the nineteenth century Key Features/Quotes The Bengal Renaissance saw the flowering of some of Indias greatest thinkers-this is the first popular account of that period and of those men and women. Illuminating-The Telegraph Reading Awakening has been an experience?the reader is really transported into that Key note: A gripping narrative about the Bengal Renaissance of the nineteenth century Key Features/Quotes The Bengal Renaissance saw the flowering of some of Indias greatest thinkers-this is the first popular account of that period and of those men and women. Illuminating-The Telegraph Reading Awakening has been an experience?the reader is really transported into that golden era when cultures mingled, barriers broke, and benefits flowed both ways.-Deccan Herald Superbly documented, the book brings to the fore Subrata Dasguptas skill as a chronicler of events.-The Hindu [Brings] these characters to life in vivid detail.-Sunday Guardian Contains the stories of some of Indias greatest icons: Rabindranath, Rammohan Roy, Vidyasagar, and Jagdish Chandra Bose in one epic narrative For fans of William Dalrymples The Last Mughal and Amitav Ghoshs The Sea of Poppies About the Book:Awakening: The story of the Bengal Renaissance In the nineteenth century, Bengal witnessed an extraordinary intellectual flowering. Bengali prose emerged, and with it the novel and modern blank verse; old arguments about religion, society, and the lives of women were overturned; great schools and colleges were created; new ideas surfaced in science. And all these changes were led by a handful of remarkable men and women. For the first time comes a gripping narrative about the Bengal Renaissance recounted through the lives of all its players from Rammohun Roy to Rabindranath Tagore. Immaculately researched, told with colour, drama, and passion, Awakening is a stunning achievement. About the Author: Subrata Dasgupta Subrata Dasgupta is Director of the Institute of Cognitive Science at the University of Louisiana where he also holds an Eminent Scholar Chair. He has worked for many years on the Bengal Renaissance. He is the author of eleven previous books including a memoir, Salaam Stanley Matthews.

This book is out of stock

Seller: BookChor
Dispatch Time : 1-3 working days
Key note: A gripping narrative about the Bengal Renaissance of the nineteenth century Key Features/Quotes The Bengal Renaissance saw the flowering of some of Indias greatest thinkers-this is the first popular account of that period and of those men and women. Illuminating-The Telegraph Reading Awakening has been an experience?the reader is really transported into that Key note: A gripping narrative about the Bengal Renaissance of the nineteenth century Key Features/Quotes The Bengal Renaissance saw the flowering of some of Indias greatest thinkers-this is the first popular account of that period and of those men and women. Illuminating-The Telegraph Reading Awakening has been an experience?the reader is really transported into that golden era when cultures mingled, barriers broke, and benefits flowed both ways.-Deccan Herald Superbly documented, the book brings to the fore Subrata Dasguptas skill as a chronicler of events.-The Hindu [Brings] these characters to life in vivid detail.-Sunday Guardian Contains the stories of some of Indias greatest icons: Rabindranath, Rammohan Roy, Vidyasagar, and Jagdish Chandra Bose in one epic narrative For fans of William Dalrymples The Last Mughal and Amitav Ghoshs The Sea of Poppies About the Book:Awakening: The story of the Bengal Renaissance In the nineteenth century, Bengal witnessed an extraordinary intellectual flowering. Bengali prose emerged, and with it the novel and modern blank verse; old arguments about religion, society, and the lives of women were overturned; great schools and colleges were created; new ideas surfaced in science. And all these changes were led by a handful of remarkable men and women. For the first time comes a gripping narrative about the Bengal Renaissance recounted through the lives of all its players from Rammohun Roy to Rabindranath Tagore. Immaculately researched, told with colour, drama, and passion, Awakening is a stunning achievement. About the Author: Subrata Dasgupta Subrata Dasgupta is Director of the Institute of Cognitive Science at the University of Louisiana where he also holds an Eminent Scholar Chair. He has worked for many years on the Bengal Renaissance. He is the author of eleven previous books including a memoir, Salaam Stanley Matthews.
Additional Information
Title Awakening: The Story of the Bengal Renaissance Height 19.6
Subrata Dasgupta Width 12.8
ISBN-13 9788184001839 Binding Paperback
ISBN-10 #8184001835 Spine Width
Publisher Browsing Rhino Pages 504
Edition 2010 Availability Out Of Stock

Goodreads reviews


Free shipping

On order over ₹399
 

Replacement

15 days easy replacement
 

9050111218

Customer care available