21 Dec

Supplemental materials are not guaranteed for used textbooks or rentals (access codes, DVDs, CDs, workbooks).

21 Dec

Author:

Availability: In Stock

From the co-author of the two-million copy mega-bestseller The Rule of Four comes a riveting thriller with a brilliant premise based on the 2012 apocalypse phenomenon?perfect for readers of Steve Berry, Preston and Child, and Dan Brown. ? For decades, December 21, 2012, has been a touchstone for doomsayers worldwide. It is the date, they claim, when the ancient Maya calendar predicts the world will end. ? In Los Angeles, two weeks before, all is calm. Dr. Gabriel Stanton takes his usual morning bike ride, drops off the dog with his ex-wife, and heads to the lab where he studies incurable prion diseases for the CDC. His first phone call is from a hospital resident who has an urgent case she thinks he needs to see. Meanwhile, Chel Manu, a Guatemalan American researcher at the Getty Museum, is interrupted by a desperate, unwelcome visitor from the black market antiquities trade who thrusts a duffel bag into her hands. ? By the end of the day, Stanton, the foremost expert on some of the rarest infections in the world, is grappling with a patient whose every symptom confounds and terrifies him. And Chel, the brightest young star in the field of Maya studies, has possession of an illegal artifact that has miraculously survived the centuries intact: a priceless codex from a lost city of her ancestors. This extraordinary record, written in secret by a royal scribe, seems to hold the answer to her life?s work and to one of history?s great riddles: why the Maya kingdoms vanished overnight. Suddenly it seems that our own civilization might suffer this same fate. ? With only days remaining until December 21, 2012, Stanton and Chel must join forces before time runs out. ? Advance praise for 12.21 ? ?Dustin Thomason, M.D., will invariably be compared to Michael Crichton, M.D., and?12.21?will be favorably compared to?The Andromeda Strain. Both authors have written first-rate medical thrillers, the kind of fact-based fiction that is?very?scary but also?very?entertaining. Thomason knows his stuff, and it shows on every page. I truly could not put this book down.??Nelson DeMille ?The most exciting novel of its kind since the days of Michael Crichton, 12.21 takes us from the frontiers of modern neuroscience to the riddles of ancient Maya texts, with nothing less than the future of our civilization at stake.??Vince Flynn ?A fast-moving tale . . . Thomason displays an impressive depth of knowledge of both science and the ancient Mayan way of life. Along the way, he skillfully ramps up the action, one notch at a time. A winning book.??Kirkus Reviews ?Fascinating, terrifying for its potential realism. I loved how tightly everything fit together. I had to keep reading.??Taylor Stevens, New York Times bestselling author of The Informationist ?Fast, suspenseful . . . Michael Crichton fans will find a lot to like.??Publishers Weekly From the Hardcover edition.


To get best offers, download Bookchor App

Download App now

Seller: BookChor
Dispatch Time : 1-3 working days
From the co-author of the two-million copy mega-bestseller The Rule of Four comes a riveting thriller with a brilliant premise based on the 2012 apocalypse phenomenon?perfect for readers of Steve Berry, Preston and Child, and Dan Brown. ? For decades, December 21, 2012, has been a touchstone for doomsayers worldwide. It is the date, they claim, when the ancient Maya calendar predicts the world will end. ? In Los Angeles, two weeks before, all is calm. Dr. Gabriel Stanton takes his usual morning bike ride, drops off the dog with his ex-wife, and heads to the lab where he studies incurable prion diseases for the CDC. His first phone call is from a hospital resident who has an urgent case she thinks he needs to see. Meanwhile, Chel Manu, a Guatemalan American researcher at the Getty Museum, is interrupted by a desperate, unwelcome visitor from the black market antiquities trade who thrusts a duffel bag into her hands. ? By the end of the day, Stanton, the foremost expert on some of the rarest infections in the world, is grappling with a patient whose every symptom confounds and terrifies him. And Chel, the brightest young star in the field of Maya studies, has possession of an illegal artifact that has miraculously survived the centuries intact: a priceless codex from a lost city of her ancestors. This extraordinary record, written in secret by a royal scribe, seems to hold the answer to her life?s work and to one of history?s great riddles: why the Maya kingdoms vanished overnight. Suddenly it seems that our own civilization might suffer this same fate. ? With only days remaining until December 21, 2012, Stanton and Chel must join forces before time runs out. ? Advance praise for 12.21 ? ?Dustin Thomason, M.D., will invariably be compared to Michael Crichton, M.D., and?12.21?will be favorably compared to?The Andromeda Strain. Both authors have written first-rate medical thrillers, the kind of fact-based fiction that is?very?scary but also?very?entertaining. Thomason knows his stuff, and it shows on every page. I truly could not put this book down.??Nelson DeMille ?The most exciting novel of its kind since the days of Michael Crichton, 12.21 takes us from the frontiers of modern neuroscience to the riddles of ancient Maya texts, with nothing less than the future of our civilization at stake.??Vince Flynn ?A fast-moving tale . . . Thomason displays an impressive depth of knowledge of both science and the ancient Mayan way of life. Along the way, he skillfully ramps up the action, one notch at a time. A winning book.??Kirkus Reviews ?Fascinating, terrifying for its potential realism. I loved how tightly everything fit together. I had to keep reading.??Taylor Stevens, New York Times bestselling author of The Informationist ?Fast, suspenseful . . . Michael Crichton fans will find a lot to like.??Publishers Weekly From the Hardcover edition.
Additional Information
Title 21 Dec Height 242 mm
Dustin Thomason Width 186 mm
ISBN-13 9780718193959 Binding Paperback
ISBN-10 #0718193954 Spine Width 3 mm
Publisher Michael Joseph Pages 62
Edition 2010 Availability In Stock

Goodreads reviews


Free shipping

On order over ₹299
 

Replacement

15 days easy replacement
 

9050111218

Customer care available